What should you consider when ordering a translation?

Check the source text
Check the source text before you have it translated into another language. Is all the information correct (names, facts and figures)? Is the wording clear and unambiguous? Would you like to have the whole text translated or only an extract?

Target group and purpose
It is very useful for a translator to know who the target group is. It could, for example, be important to know whether the text is designed for in-house communication or for publication by the print media.

Do you need a certified or legalized translation?
It depends on the purpose of the translation as to whether you need a simple confirmation of accuracy or official certification. If the translation is merely needed for communication purposes, it does not have to be certified. If a document has to be submitted to a notary public or to authorities in Liechtenstein or neighbouring countries, it normally suffices to have confirmation of the accuracy of the translation, which can be issued by Interlingua being an accredited translation agency. If the translation has to be acknowledged by authorities or a notary public abroad, we will obtain the certification required for the respective country and in addition, if required, an Apostille/Authentication. If certification is required, we will request you to give us the original document of the source text. Depending on the type of document and period of validity, we will have a certified copy made so that we can return the original to you.

The right translator
Our staff carefully choose the right translator for every new translation job. Does the translator need to have a legal background or does the challenge lie in creating appealing marketing texts? Do you already have your own regular Interlingua translator?

Style of language
We strive to adapt the style of the translation to that of the source text. Nevertheless, different translators use different stylistic means, and a single text translated by five translators will result in five different translations. Test translations can be performed on request so that you can choose your regular translator.

Questions
No one will read your source text as closely as a translator. If something is not absolutely clear or if the translator, for example, needs technical background information about your product, we will ask questions, for we want to give you a flawless and unambiguous translation.

Length of text
A translation is never executed word-for-word; there are always terms that have to be paraphrased. In addition, some languages use brief and concise terms while others are more flowery and ornate. If you only have a specific amount of space, for example, for an article and the translation must not exceed a certain length, please inform us in advance.

Date of delivery
The target date of a translation will not only depend on the translator’s workload and the length of the text, but also on the content. Extensive research is sometimes required. The more time you give us, the more research can be done. We will of course give you a deadline by when the translation will be completed.

Quality management
Every translator checks their work several times and uses technical tools to eliminate mistakes to as great an extent as possible. Nevertheless, four eyes see more than two. No translation leaves our agency without being double-checked and reviewed by a proof-reader or a second translator.

If you have any further questions, please contact us. We will gladly assist you.

Was sollte bei einem Auftrag an uns beachtet werden?

Ausgangstext hinterfragen
Hinterfragen Sie Ihren Ausgangstext, bevor Sie das Dokument in eine Fremdsprache übersetzen lassen. Sind alle Daten korrekt (Namen, Zahlen, Fakten)? Ist alles unmissverständlich formuliert? Möchten Sie eine Übersetzung des gesamten Textes oder nur eines Auszuges?

Zielgruppe und Zweck
Für den Übersetzer ist es sehr hilfreich zu wissen, für welches Zielpublikum die Übersetzung bestimmt ist. Beispielsweise kann es von Bedeutung sein, ob ein Text für die interne Kommunikation einer Firma bestimmt ist, oder durch Printmedien veröffentlicht werden soll.

Ist eine Beglaubigung notwendig und was wird beglaubigt?
Ob Sie eine einfache Bestätigung der Richtigkeit oder eine offizielle Beglaubigung benötigen, hängt vom Zweck der Übersetzung ab. Dient sie lediglich dem Verständnis, ist keine Beglaubigung erforderlich. Müssen Sie ein Dokument bei einem Notar oder einer Behörde im Inland oder im grenznahen Ausland vorlegen, genügt meistens die Bestätigung der Richtigkeit durch Interlingua als amtlich zugelassenes Übersetzungsbüro. Muss die Übersetzung von einer Behörde oder einem Notar im Ausland anerkannt werden, holen wir für Sie die für das jeweilige Land erforderliche Beglaubigung und allenfalls zusätzlich eine Apostille/Überbeglaubigung ein. Sobald eine Beglaubigung erforderlich ist, bitten wir Sie um Zustellung des Originals des Ausgangstextes. Je nach Art und Gültigkeitsdauer dessen, lassen wir eine beglaubigte Kopie anfertigen, damit Sie Ihr Originaldokument wieder zurückerhalten.

Auswahl des Übersetzers
Unsere Mitarbeiter wählen den geeigneten Übersetzer für jeden neuen Auftrag sorgfältig aus. Muss der Übersetzer juristisch ausgebildet sein oder liegt die Herausforderung in der Formulierung eines ansprechenden PR-Textes? Haben Sie bereits Ihren Interlingua-Stammübersetzer?

Sprachstil
Wir bemühen uns sehr, uns dem Sprachstil des Ausgangstextes anzupassen. Dennoch ist es so, dass fünf verschiedene Übersetzer ein und denselben Text stilistisch anders übersetzen. Auf Wunsch können verschiedene Probeübersetzungen angefertigt werden, damit Sie Ihren Stammübersetzer auswählen können.

Rückfragen
Niemand liest Ihren Ausgangstext so genau wie der Übersetzer. Ist ihm ein Sachverhalt nicht unmissverständlich klar oder braucht er beispielsweise eine technische Hintergrundinformation zu Ihrem Produkt, fragen wir nach. Denn wir möchten Ihnen eine qualitativ einwandfreie und unmissverständliche Übersetzung liefern.

Textlänge
Eine Übersetzung erfolgt nie wortwörtlich, es gibt immer Begriffe, die umschrieben werden müssen. Es gibt Sprachen, in denen man sich kurz und knapp ausdrückt und andere, die blumiger und ausführlicher sind. Sind Sie an Platzvorgaben gebunden, beispielsweise bei einem Artikel, und darf die Übersetzung eine gewisse Länge nicht überschreiten, bitten wir Sie, uns dies im Voraus mitzuteilen.

Lieferfrist
Die Lieferfrist einer Übersetzung hängt nicht nur von der Auslastung des Übersetzers und der Textlänge ab, sondern auch vom Inhalt. Manchmal sind intensive Recherchen notwendig. Je mehr Zeit wir erhalten, desto genauer kann recherchiert werden. Natürlich machen wir Ihnen gerne eine verbindliche Terminangabe.

Qualitätsmanagement
Jeder Übersetzer prüft seine Werke mehrmals und verwendet dazu auch technische Hilfsmittel, um Fehler möglichst zu eliminieren. Dennoch sehen vier Augen mehr als zwei. Keine Übersetzung verlässt unser Haus, ohne nochmals von einem Lektor oder einem zweiten Übersetzer geprüft worden zu sein.

Für alle weiteren Fragen bitten wir Sie, uns direkt zu kontaktieren. Wir helfen gerne weiter.